Jim Ellis, President and Chief Executive Officer

In June 2013, Jim Ellis became the President and Chief Executive Officer of Alberta Energy Regulator.

Mr. Ellis has more than 30 years experience in the public sector, including seven years with the Government of Alberta. He joined the Alberta Public Service in 2006 as the Executive Director of the Alberta Environment Support and Emergency Response Team (ASERT). In 2007, he was appointed Assistant Deputy Minister responsible for environmental regulatory affairs in Alberta.

Read more

Cal Hill, Executive Vice President, Strategy and Regulatory Division

Cal Hill joined the AER in 1980 when it was still the original ERCB. Having just graduated from the University of Calgary with a Bachelor of Science degree in geology, he began as a reservoir geologist in the geology department, but he rose steadily through various supervisory positions until he became the manager of the Resource Appraisal Group in 2000. In 2003, he took responsibility for the Alberta Geological Survey (AGS), the Economics Group, and the Geology and Reserves Group as the executive manager of the Resources Branch (now the Geology, Environmental Science, and Economics Branch).

Read more

Jennifer Steber, Executive Vice President, Stakeholder and Government Engagement

In August of 2013, Jennifer Steber joined the Alberta Energy Regulator (AER) as the new Executive Vice President of Stakeholder and Government Engagement. Prior to joining the AER, Ms. Steber had been with the Government of Alberta for nearly a quarter century holding a variety of senior positions, such as Chief Assistant Deputy Minister of Oil Sands and Energy Operations, and Assistant Deputy Minister of Resource Development.

Read more

Kirk Bailey, Executive Vice President, Operations Division

Kirk Bailey joined the Alberta Energy Regulator (AER) Executive Leadership Team in 2013 as the executive vice president of operations. Before joining the AER, he was president of Kushog Consulting and senior independent advisor for Deloitte and Brion Energy. Kirk is a former member of Suncor Energy's executive team, where he held a variety of senior executive leadership positions in refining and upstream resource development. He led the creation of Suncor's Oil Sands Ventures business unit responsible for Suncor's interest in $20 billion of oil sands joint venture projects. Kirk is also a former board member of Syncrude Canada.

Read more

Patricia (Patty) Johnston, Q.C., ICD.D, Executive Vice President, Legal and General Counsel

Patricia Johnston is the executive vice president, legal and general counsel of the Alberta Energy Regulator (AER). She leads a branch of 13 lawyers responsible for providing legal and business advice to all AER business branches and field offices.

Read more

Rick Brown, Executive Vice President, Corporate Services

Rick Brown brings tremendous leadership experience to the Alberta Energy Regulator with more than 28 years as an Officer in the Canadian Forces serving both in the Reserves (7 years) and with Lord Strathcona's Horse (Royal Canadians). Following his military career, Mr. Brown served for six years with Alberta Emergency Management with his final role as Executive Director for Alberta's emergency management organization.

Read more