Bulletin 2015-15

Bulletin 2015-15: 2015 AER Administration Fees (Industry Levy)

VIEW PDF (446.24 KB)

2015 AER Administration Fees (Industry Levy)

May 06, 2015

Energy Regulation Program

The Alberta Energy Regulator (AER) regulates energy resource development within Alberta and has a mandate to ensure the safe, efficient, orderly, and environmentally responsible development of hydrocarbon resources over their entire life cycle. This includes allocating and conserving water resources, managing public lands, and protecting environment while providing economic benefits for all Albertans.

For 2015–16, the revenue required to support the AER’s operations, as approved by the Government of Alberta, is $240 093 000.

2015 Administration Fees (Industry Levy)


Allocation ($000)



2014A & 2014B

Oil and gas

174 308

176 476

Oil sands

62 184

63 062


3 601

3 630


240 093

243 168

The AER’s revenue requirements affect operator levy invoices. Other factors also contribute to the fee determination at an operator level, including an increase or decrease in wells or entities within the sector, ownership transfer and amalgamations, new entrants, and volume fluctuations. Invoices vary according to individual operations and are based on operating statistics for the 2014 calendar year. Invoices to operators detailing the fee calculations will be mailed on May 7, 2015, and payments are due by June 8, 2015.

The Responsible Energy Development Act (REDA) authorizes the AER to make rules to levy an administration fee on the oil and gas, oil sands and coal sectors. REDA also authorizes the imposition of a late-payment penalty, which is set at 20 per cent on any portion of the fee that remains unpaid after the due date. The AER may also close producing facilities for failure to pay an invoice or late-payment penalty.

Invoices for 2015 administration fees are sent to and are payable by the party that was the operator as of December 31, 2014. For conventional wells and oil sands schemes, “operator” means the entity that files well production, injection, and/or disposal data with Petrinex, Canada’s Petroleum Information Network. If the operator fails to pay the fee, the licensee is responsible for paying the invoiced amount plus any penalty.

Oil and Gas

Determination of Administration Fees

The administration fee in the conventional oil and gas sector is based on individual well production of oil/bitumen or gas and the number of production and service wells for the year ended December 31, 2014.

All operating wells are classified into one of eight base fee classes as set out in the Alberta Energy Regulator Administration Fees Rules (AFR) and illustrated in the table below. In addition, an adjustment factor is specified and applied to each base fee. This adjustment factor ensures that the total administration fee collected for the sector satisfies the revenue requirement for the AER.


Min. production

Max. production

Base fee


Service wells






























* m3/yr: cubic metres per year.

In the AFR, the adjustment factor is set at 3.713571 of the base fee specified for wells in all classes.

Alberta Upstream Petroleum Research Fund (AUPRF)

The Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers (CAPP) and the Explorers and Producers Association of Canada (EPAC) have jointly requested that the AER’s administration fee process be used to collect $2 600 000 to fund the Alberta Upstream Petroleum Research Fund (AUPRF) in 2015. The AER has agreed to assist and has included an amount for this funding in the oil and gas well administration fee invoices. As a result, the adjustment factor used for invoicing has increased from 3.713571 to 3.768963. Payment of the AUPRF contribution is voluntary. Funds collected by the AER for the AUPRF will be passed to CAPP and EPAC. The AER is not involved in and does not make any decisions regarding the manner in which these funds are spent or to whom the funds are disbursed. On request, the AER may provide information to CAPP and EPAC regarding paid and unpaid AUPRF amounts by operator.

Oil Sands

Fees are levied in five categories based on operating information for the calendar year 2014. An operator may have activities in more than one category. Each category is subject to an adjustment factor as identified below.


Allocation ($000)

Adjustment factor

Primary ongoing



Thermal ongoing

24 087


Thermal growth

14 747


Mining ongoing



Mining growth




62 184



The administration fee for coal is based on each mine’s share of total production volumes for the year ended December 31, 2014. It is set at $0.118762 per tonne of coal as specified in the AFR.


If you have questions about the 2015 administration fees, please contact
Anila Kaceli
Team Lead, Revenue & Cash Management
Finance Branch
Alberta Energy Regulator
Suite 1000, 250 – 5 Street SW
Calgary, AB  T2P 0R4
Telephone: 403-297-6985
E-mail: anila.kaceli@aer.ca


Any appeal must be made in writing (faxes are not acceptable) to
Tom Heywood, CA
Vice President, Finance, and Chief Financial Officer
Finance Branch
Alberta Energy Regulator
Suite 1000, 250 – 5 Street SW
Calgary, AB  T2P 0R4
Telephone: 403-297-2133
E-mail: tom.heywood@aer.ca

Payment of all invoices is required by June 8, 2015, regardless of whether an appeal has been filed. Following a decision on the appeal, subsequent adjustments may be applied, if needed.

<original signed by>

Tom Heywood, CA
Vice President, Finance, and Chief Financial Officer
Finance Branch

Within this section


Industry Support for the Alberta Upstream Petroleum Research Fund (AUPRF) [PDF]

AER Administration Fees (Industry Levy) FAQs [PDF]